I’m wearing a wig!

Yes, you read that right – Melissa, the woman who doesn’t wear wigs, is wearing a wig.

Luckily, its just for a Purim costume and I shall return to the world of scarves tomorrow, but for today I am be-wigged – and its weird! Aside from the obviously very different look, it feels weird physically, mentally, and spiritually.

@thdpr and @melschol - but who is who? (Post by Melissa)

The first question I’m sure you have is – what were you and what did the wig look like? Well, thats simple.  My dear friend Talia and I decided to be each other at work. We wanted to celebrate but also be work appropriate, and so a brilliant idea was born.  We wore outfits that were totally how the other dresses (and each other’s work name tags just to clarify), but the crux of it was clearly our “hair” – my be-scarfed head and her beautiful red hair are quite distinct. So today, I am wearing a wig. I’ll be back later to reflect on the experience!

***

Ok, it is now motzei Shabbat, and the wig has been packed away and I can take a moment to reflect on the experience.

Overwhelmingly, I just didn’t feel like myself.  Maybe it was that the color was so far from my own, but I think it was more that it just didn’t feel true to who I am and my ideals at this point in my life. Plus, I was super freaking hot! I honestly felt like I was over heating all day, and while it was unseasonably warm, it was still only  ~65′ – I can’t imagine having it on in 85′!

The biggest shock to me though was number of comments I got about how pretty/beautiful/etc I looked with a wig on and subsequently “why don’t you wear a wig.” While I so know that our society values hair as beautiful, it was still striking to see how much it really affects people’s views of each other.  That having on a (very cheap) wig made such an impact on my appearance that people felt compelled to comment as amazing to me. So, while my vain inner voice said “what, so I don’t look pretty normally?” my rational voice reaffirmed the sephardic reasoning for not wearing a wig, and my overall non-sheitel status. (Though ironically on Sunday I am attending a Sheitel Sale, though that is primarily to support the friend hosting it and to get a WiGrip which I have heard such amazing reviews of but would love to try on before committing to.)

At the end of the experience, I am honestly so glad to be back to my scarves and hats, though I do have an increased appreciation for women who wear sheitels daily and there is still the lingering inside me to own one for fancy events.  However, I am sure all I will have to do to sway myself back to reality now is to remember how hot I was and how uncomfortable I was with people telling me how good I looked. For my physical, mental, and spiritual well-being – I really need to stick to scarves.

8 thoughts on “I’m wearing a wig!

  1. So, while my vain inner voice said “what, so I don’t look pretty normally?” my rational voice reaffirmed the sephardic reasoning for not wearing a wig, and my overall non-sheitel status.

    I’m with you. I find it hard to understand how it is OK to wear a stunning wig that seems to draw even more attention to one’s head.

    This was an interesting look inside your own journey. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Thanks FrumeSarah and Ruchi for your lovely comments. I like the point that “stunning” is an issue over pretty. (And I will definitely check out that post! I love to hear and read about other people’s experiences.)
    I love to share my journeys and I know that this particular one is far from over. Stay tuned to see what happens next in the world of Melissa’s hair. 😉

    • Looking forward!

      I kind of look at shaitel-wearing like eating meat. It’s a concession. I’d rather do it less often than more, but I’m not prepared to swear it off completely, and there are times when I thoroughly relish that I can do each.

  3. Pingback: I’m wearing a tichel! | Talia, She Wrote

  4. How did I go this long without realizing that Mel was one of the two who were “Redefining Rebbetzin”? Shame on me for not putting it all together. Amazing that you and Talia could use this holiday as a chance to walk in each other’s, um, hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

