Q&A: Baby wearing and head covering?

Post by Melissa

A good friend recently asked me the following question and I knew I had to come ask you all:

A friend of mine who likes to baby wear also covers her hair (scarves, generally). But kiddo is starting to pull. Any tips/tricks to keep head covered against baby hands?

Since I am not yet a mom, I am able to be intentional in my head coverings when I am going to be spending prolonged amount of time with kids.  I tend to wear the beret style hat/snoods which are easily adjustable as they get touched and pulled. However, I know many moms who wear tichels full time, so there has to be a trick, beyond just waiting for them to learn not to touch.

So dear readers, do you have any insights about how to keep little hands away from a covered head?

7 thoughts on “Q&A: Baby wearing and head covering?

  1. at the very beginning I just grabbed my twins hands with a stern “no”. Then I gave them snoods to play with when they tugged on mine. More often than not I do snoods rather than shaitels because I can throw the snood in the washing machine when the peanut butter hands hit it. 🙂 Fortunately they’ve only gotten it all the way off about 10 times in 5 years and only 2 of those 10 times were outside the house.

  2. My second son likes to pull on my headcoverings (he thinks it’s a wonderful, wonderful game. You should see his smile!), or my sheitels (ouch). The hats/tichels come off, but the sheitels don’t, because the sheitel is clipped into my hair.

    Maybe your friend could wear clips in her tichels until the tot is no longer grabbing. Also, it could be possible to wear a very snug head-covering beneath the scarf, so even if it is removed, her hair will remain covered.

    Hatzlacha!

  3. I kind of treat it like my nose, eyes, earrings (which I find I must wear when covering with a scarf/bandanna!) – they try to pull for a little while, and eventually learn not to. I have had a few close calls, though!

  4. I just move his hands away when he goes after mine… I have had it pulled off a few times, but its with one particular pretied bandana that I’ve pretty much given up on. I have much better luck with tichels lol.

  5. On behalf of the http://thedailycover.tumblr.com/ readers, here is my sisters’ (mother of 2 boys) response:

    “wow, along with not wearing dainty necklaces and earrings…this too comes with motherhood! I switched to a shorter “do” and wore mostly hats that when pulled actually came down farther, rather than off. Also, tichels tied up tightly, with no ‘enticing’ loose ends to grab and pull. My friend clips her tichel on the sides as well.”

    Hope it helps!

  6. wow, along with not wearing dainty necklaces and earrings…this too comes with motherhood! I switched to a shorter “do” and wore mostly hats that when pulled actually came down farther, rather than off. Also, tichels tied up tightly, with no ‘enticing’ loose ends to grab and pull. My friend clips her tichel on the sides as well.

Leave a Reply

