The Joy of Cookbooks

Post by Melissa

In the age of the internet, it is so easy to just search for a recipe and leave the cookbooks on their shelf.  So much so, that its what I’ve been doing for far too long.

I recently received my copy of Jamie Geller’s Quick and Kosher: Meals in Minutes and looking through it took me to a happy place.

On Thursday I sat on my couch, surrounded by my favorite cookbooks and poured through them for Shabbat ideas, as well as recipes to use up some blueberries and zucchini that needed to be baked. (Well, I’m sure I could have found another use for it, but I’m a baker – so baked goods are what I think of when things need to be consumed.)

There was something uniquely satisfying about looking through the books and putting little pieces of paper in the pages to mark what I wanted to come back to.  Something about putting my cookbook in the stand amidst the flying flour that made my heart happy.  Something more mouthwatering about photos on a page than on the internet.

I took a photo of the stack I was working from, but want to know what your go-to cookbooks are too!

 

Sorry for the brevity of this post, but I’m in a baking spree today! Sweet zucchini bread (from a friend),  Harvest Bread (KBD: lighten’s up), and Black & Blue Muffins (The Kosher Baker).

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Cookbooks

  1. I love KBD, and I just got into Quick and Kosher, but I have to say that my absolute favorites are the synagogue-based collections. Those have the most tried-and-true recipes you’ll ever find.

  2. We love KBD: Lightens Up, the regular KBD (but we halve the oil), and Enlitened Kosher Cooking. Also, we use the South Beach Quick and Easy cookbook (with some modifications in necessary). We will probably get more in the future, but this is a great selection for us right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

