Happy Hair-aversary!

First Hair Covering - Post by Melissa

Yesterday* was my second wedding anniversary (hooray!) – so that makes today my two year anniversary of head covering! Clearly an occasion worth noting and celebrating in a blog post!

The first day I covered my hair (as seen to the right), I took a long rectangle scarf and tied a simple bun. That didn’t last very long, so the bun got unwrapped and just hung down my back. Both of these methods required constant adjusting – and I know now I made some key rookie mistakes!

a) nothing holding the scarf on my head: I now know that almost everyone needs something to help hold a scarf in place. My preferred option are some wide bobby pins from Goody with slip resistance on them.  Oh, and behind the ears is better than above them.  Other options include headbands, wig caps, hijab clips, and regular bobby pins.

b) the weight makes it slide – fold it up: Having really long tails at the nape of your neck or dangling down your back can add a lot of weight in the back which only furthers the sliding factor. Folding or twisting the tails over your head helps to disperse the weight – plus it adds depth to the scarf so it looks cooler.

c) layering is your friend: Using multiple scarves is a great way to add color, dimension, and style to a head-covering. Also, putting a thin cotton scarf as a base layer helps to fake or bulk up a bun!

d) you have to be conscious of the thickness of tichels: Thicker scarves are not only heavier, they are often harder to wrap as well. There is definitely a learning curve, and newbies should start out with thin cotton scarves.

e) positioning on the forehead: There is a key spot (which I think is probably different for everyone) of where you need to position your scarf along your hairline to minimize slipping or looking funny. I have to start the tie with it about an inch onto my forehead so that by the time I’m done its just in front of my hairline and then as I move about it comes just a touch behind there

f) not tying too tight: when tying tightly it pulls the fabric and then is more apt to pull and slide. This one I don’t really understand but its the truth – trust me.

I consider myself a bit of a pro scarf tier now, but I still struggle with some things.

a) what length to keep my hair ofr optimal diversity and efficiency in hair covering.

b) the endless battle between head coverings and glasses, with the added trick of all the holes in my ears.

c) color coordination of multiple scarves. to match, compliment or contrast – that is the question.

d) how to replicate other people’s styles with my funny shaped head.

e) if i should invest in a sewing machine and start making my own scarves.

Perhaps next year I’ll have answers to all these too! In the interim, feel free to share your own lessons and questions, respond to my struggles, and check out the wide variety of posts on hair covering from both Jessica and me.

*Ok, so really my anniversary was two days ago and my hair-aversary was a day ago now. But I wrote most of the post on my hair-aversary, so I’m not changing it for factual accuracy 😉

8 thoughts on “Happy Hair-aversary!

  1. Pingback: Haveil Havalim #320 — Summertime edition « Frume Sarah's World

  2. Love the post! Mazal tov! Here is some random feedback…

    a.) A few inches below shoulder length is great. You can still do high buns, while also being able to put your hair into a stocking cap easily.

    d.) I just go up to people and ask them how they did it. Your head shape is beautiful.

    e.) Yes you should make your own scarves. It is so, so easy and your headwear will match your outfits perfectly!

    • Thanks Julie!
      some random responses:
      a) I also like to wear hats though, especially in winter! Its much easier to switch between a cold weather hat and a normal hat, than to get my metal filled ears covered while wearing a scarf. But I am not comfortable having a lot of hair hanging out of the back of the hat. I think I’m going to grow out to just above my shoulders and see how that works.

      d) I have a photo for you of having done that actually! I met a woman who wraps like an Urban Wrap, but the back is really smooth. She folds the extra back under! So I tried it for a wedding and took a picture to show you so you can add it to your knowledge base too.

  3. Pingback: Wrapunzel

Leave a Reply

